My Fantastic Scholastic Bombastic Idea!

Hi lovelies!

So this weekend I got the opportunity to visit my families most wonderful cabin in the woods.

It’s literally smack dab in the middle of nowhere.

And it’s Heaven.

I love going up there because there is no smog, no snobbish people, a very small amount of cars, and silence.

I know that sounds silly that I should love a place for its silence, but alas I do.

And I shall elaborate that this “silence” is not really an ear defening “silence”…

It’s a silence imbedded with the sounds of squirrels skittering up a tree, a loon cooing to its mate, waves lapping at the nearby shore….

Mmmmmmm…

Lovely.

While partaking in this “silence” while jiggiling my stick for sunnies, I came to a realization.

I, Delightfulness am good at rhyming.

Why I’ve been in looooove with Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein since I was old enough to waddle.

The rhyming words rolling off the tongue is so wonderful and delightful that it tickles me pink.

I downloaded The Lorax onto my phone this weekend and have already had it read to me 7 times (The App comes with a lovely read-along man).

Remember Zamp Lamp?

Divine.

My most favorite Dr. Seuss book has to be Green Eggs and Ham.

How could you not smile at the simplicity of such a wonderful concept.

Green Eggs and Ham.

Ha!

Well my love of these books has permeated its way into my subconscious as I find myself rhyming words in my head.

All. The. Time.

It’s like a never-ending mind game.

Whip. Slip. Dip. Hip. Nip. Blip. Chip. Quip. Rip. Skip. Drip. Flip. Gipp…

On and on and on..

So then I thought to myself…

What can I do with such a useless talent?

And as I sat there thinkering with my thinker,

It came to me.

Children’s books!

Why not give a go at writing one?

The worst thing that would happen would be that I would have a lovely first and only copy of my own book to read to my children.

Then the idea started rolling.

So now I have a whole line of titles written up (just in case someone actually likes it)…

Can’t just start and stop with one now can I?

Have to out-do those “If you gave a mouse a cookie..” books!

Well folks, I am happy to say that I have already written a rough draft OOOOFFFF

Dadadadadaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6 and 1/2 pages!

(The half being the very last page as I already know how I want it to end).

I have a plan for my pictures.

I have a plan for the rest of the story line.

I have a plan for me.

And my useless rhyming talent.

Wootatooty toot toot!

About delightfulness

One sweet, quirky, delightful individual I am.
Gallery | This entry was posted in February and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Fantastic Scholastic Bombastic Idea!

  1. Java Girl says:

    Like! Like! Like! I think you’d make an excellent children’s author! Go for it! :)

  2. sparklebumps says:

    You shall soon be famous, and make a million bucks,
    And I will be cool by association, no if, ands, or buts. :)

Leave a thought.

