Beaner: The Sock Stealer

Have you ever noticed how the washing machine or dryer gobbles up one of your socks so you’re left with five bare toesies? When I was little I used to think that there were these little people who I called the Sock Stealers that would steal one sock of each of my brightly colored pairs. I imagined that they would sit inside the Dryer as it spun round and round slurping up the thread of my pink, purple, green, blue, and red socks. They always had curly crazy hair and large round eyes that if caught, would turn all big and cute-like Puss in Boots. That way they would always escape. Why they only wanted one sock was a mystery I am still bent on solving. Maybe it’s the appeal of having one and leaving you all fuzzled. Watching from the shadows as you search under the couch cushions, underneath the couch and bed, behind and inside the washer and dryer, and through your clothes over and over. I can see them giggling as you turn the obviously empty clothes basket upside down and try to shake the missing sock from thin air. Mischievous little buggers.

I solved this problem by wearing mismatched socks. Currently I have a pink one paird with a green one. A blue one with a yellow one. A purple one with a red one. And I wear them everywhere. I always think it’s funny that I could pull up my dress pants at work and you’d see me with two different colored socks on. No one suspects all the fun going on underneath the prim and pressed suit. They have become almost a guilty pleasure. Kind of my way of shoving attitude in the business world. Christmas socks with Halloween? Why the hell not. Nothing is off limits when it comes to these socks.

So these little doe eyed Sock Stealers have sort of done me a favor. I get to express a little creativity under my clothes as well as saving me a ton of time from folding all those suckers.

So I thank thee oh Sock Stealers for stealing my socks.

About delightfulness

One sweet, quirky, delightful individual I am.
Gallery | This entry was posted in October and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beaner: The Sock Stealer

  1. sparklebumps says:

    Yes, yes, you have caught me. I am the sock stealer with the crazy curly hair and Puss-N-Boots eyes. 😎

Leave a thought.

