The Origamist

The Origamist

I fold and unfold my
Legs and arms into
Elephants and dragons
Who stomp and unfurl
Sticky wings
I englarge and inflate
My eyes and ears
Popping them out
Disproportionately
To my stick thin body
I have mastered the art
Of box pleating
And decreeping
With such ease
That my 45 degree angles
Have been known to
Cut through sinew
And bone
I can tug a corner
Through the crook of an
Elbow
Or through the bend
Of a knee
I can graft and edge
Around the neck
Or over the bare midriff
But for what I am most
Notorious for
Is the
Folding of the petal
Lengthening
And narrowing
Into a delicate balance
Of angles and creases
Blossoming into a field
Of paths and molecules
Each stem
Carefully erected
And frozen in plastic
Each leaf
Stretched
From a pseudohinge
A nose of the underlying
Tree
And each petal
Tenderly
Shaped and dipped
Into half-moon
Octaves
Molded
Into
The lotus
Found
Rising
From
Crumpled
Waters.

About delightfulness

One sweet, quirky, delightful individual I am.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a thought.

