Lost My Job

So today, I walk into work expecting to get hired on the companies payroll.

Instead I get let go.

I’ll explain.

So for the last three months I was through a temp agency because that was the companies policy to make sure you were a good fit.

The last three months were going splendidly.

So when my 60 days were up, I asked the Boss Man if he thought of hiring me on the payroll.

That was on Friday.

He said yes. He was very happy with what I was doing for the company and he would love to have me on the payroll starting Monday.

Today I get an email: “Delightful, come see me when you have a moment. We need to talk.”

So when I get moment, I go in to talk to him.

He closes the door and the conversation went like this:

Boss Man: Delightful, you are still going to be with the temp agency. You will not be on the companies payroll and today will be your last day.

Me: Eyes wide open in shock.

Me: What?

Boss Man: We had a meeting this weekend and it turns out we don’t have enough winter sales to keep you on.

Me: Freaking the fuck out. I don’t even get the curtesy of waiting until after Christmas. He cuts me TWO FUCKING WEEKS BEFOREHAND.

So I sit there shaking and putting my hand over my eyes and rocking back and forth.

Boss Man opens his mouth and starts talking and I flat out tell him to leave me alone for a few minutes while I figure things out.

I have bills to pay.

I just spend a toooon of money on a Christmas present for the BF and I in January.

I’m now jobless.

Unable to apply for unemployment seeing as I was through a temp agency (bone me twice in the ass why don’t you.)

I get up, open his door, walk out and go into a coworkers desk space and start bawling my fucking eyes out.

She’s bewildered and I’m dripping tears all over her trying to blubber out what happened.

I calm down just enough to grab my cell phone and walk out the door to call my Mother and the BF.

They can barely hear me through my snotting and blubbering all over the place.

Mom is shocked and pissed.

BF is shocked and even more pissed.

And I’m feeling like a lost wounded puppy.

How can I go from expecting to have a full time job one moment to not having anything the next.

I’m still in shock.

I go back and and start packing up my desk…my pictures and papers and such.

Then I clean up my computer…and here’s the kicker.

Not more than 15 minutes after our conversation…he changed the website’s password so I was unable to get in and take my picture off of it.

Fucking.

Asshole.

I’ve been hitting the jobsites since I got home this morning.

I’m tired.

I’m cranky.

And I’ve got the mother of all headaches.

So now I’m going to curl up on the couch and have some alone time with SNL and Russel Brand.

Hopefully I’ll be feeling a little bit more upbeat for a post tomorrow….

About delightfulness

One sweet, quirky, delightful individual I am.
Gallery | This entry was posted in December and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lost My Job

  1. mheretowrite says:

    Things will get better.. Enjoy Christmas and worry after that..

    • I’m a worrier at heart, but I will most definitely enjoy my Christmas…partly because I love Christmas and partly because I will be sticking it to the Asshole and letting him know he did not beat me down. =)

  2. Bryan Lewis says:

    Hot Damn! When it rains it pours and that is a very uncomfortable thing to hear when things look bleak but it is a real thing to say. You have to embrace this ‘fuckery’ and allow it to fuel you to go hard in the paint. Don’t take the sneak jab and sit around and wallow…you got to get up and fight. Call any and everywhere…any money is better than no money. Sending you positive energy in your time of let down. Be strong lady.

    • Oof. You really know how to pick someone up! Thank you so much for the support. Seriously means a lot. I have applied for any and all administrative jobs these past two days…tomorrow I will hit the restaurant and mall jobs. I need anything to pay my bills until October…then it’s grad school time. =) I am fighting strong!

  3. Bryan Lewis says:

    Oh yeah…the brother amun blog is gone…I am now at
    http://nowtransmitting.wordpress.com/

  4. sparklebumps says:

    😦 Ther were fucking stupid not to keep you on. Come work with me! XOXO Everything will be ok, even if it doesn’t seem like it right now.

Leave a thought.

