GGRRRRRR

So I had to turn in my car insurance to the PCA company I am now employed at.

I turn it in and was promptly ambushed.

I have had a college level reading ability since I was in the 6th grade.

This means that I was able to read quickly and understand what the hell I was reading even if it included large words.

This has helped me most of my life getting through boring school textbooks, reading through a book series astronomically fast just to get to the next one (I hate waiting for the sequels to come out), and acing the reading portion of the ACT’s.

Today.

For the first time in my life.

It got me almost fired.

The online training for the PCA thing was this module created by the State of Minnesota.

Now I had completed this training two weeks ago and told Miss High and Mighty this and all she said was, “Well there’s an option to go straight to the quiz so you’ll have to do it over just to make sure you actually read through all of them.”

So instead of asking me maybe to recount or summarize said modules, I had to sit down and go through them…all. over. again.

So I did.

Except this time I turned off the annoying read-along voice and read at my own pace.

I watched all of the videos like a good girl.

And took the Understanding Quizzes at the end of each module.

I finished in one hour.

Miss High and Mighty said it would take 2 to 3 hours.

Ummm…yeah if you don’t know how to read well or know how to use a computer.

Well when I left this training session, Miss High and Mighty was in a meeting so I did not have a chance to talk to her.

I guess instead of being smart and scheduling her meeting after our training session and taking care of us, she decided to ambush me today with a threat of firing.

She told me that she was “concerned” that I was already cutting corners and not following direction which is of the upmost importance in this industry.

Ya think?

And that the secretary up front told her that I had “skimmed” the material.

Hmmm….

And that she wasn’t sure how to proceed and it would depend on my subsequent answer.

So this is what I said.

“Miss High and Mighty. I had told you earlier in the training session that I had already completed this training session. So instead of listing to the read-along voice, I turned off the audio and went at my own pace. It was review. If you would like, I will recite to you the modules on the program. I did not “skim” through them as your secretary has falsly accused me of. I told her that I had done the program a few weeks ago and this was more of a “review” for me. I do not cut corners in any area of my life. In this industry I am responsible for another child’s life. I looked after a boy with Downs and very well understand the importance of following the directions. I cared for my Grandpa who had diabetes and two missing legs. If I didn’t follow the directions or cut corners he would have ended up in a coma or had an insulin reaction. Being diabetic myself I am well aware of the consequences of cutting corners.”

She blinked at me for a few seconds.

Cleared her throat and said:

“Well that’s what I wanted to hear. Moving on.”

GGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

Not all of us are idiots Miss High and Mighty.

I don’t think I’m going to like this company very much.

They are reimbursed fully for their services by the government and yet can only afford to pay their PCA’s $8.78 per hour.

And the only full time staff are their office people and head RN (whom is a very lovely lady).

I have a tinsy tiny problem with this formula but that is neither here nor there.

They are taking full advantage of the shitty economy and the realization that people need jobs and like me are willing to work for shit.

My choice. My problem.

Another problem I have with this company is their “cell phone” policy.

We are not allowed to use our cell phones when we are working under no circumstance.

Umm. Excuse me?

I will working 8am to 7pm every Tuesday and Thursday and you want me to shut off my phone and not check it?

Well excuse me but my sister was in a horrific car accident a few years ago.

And my grandfather passed away in the wee hours of the morning two years ago.

Both times, my phone was shut off.

This is one of your many rules I will not abide to.

I will check my phone when I pee.

Or take my 15 minute paid break.

So still that up your butt and suck it.

I’m just glad that this is the last time I’ll have to extensively deal with these people for a while.

After this I will deal exclusively with the families.

10 points for Delightfulness!!

About delightfulness

One sweet, quirky, delightful individual I am.
This entry was posted in December and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GGRRRRRR

  1. H.E. ELLIS says:

    I’m sorry to hear what you had to go through. I also think their cellphone policy is way over the top. What if you had a child that needed your attention? Nowadays schools contact parents by cellphone. If you are unavailable you could be in trouble. They are lucky to have someone like you who is willing to do their job despite the ludicrous demands made of you.

  2. sparklebumps says:

    Yes! They suck butt and must be destroyed! Thank goodness your OTHER job is shall be super fun, eh? 😉

  3. Give ’em hell, Delightfulness!!!! There is a way around every stupid company policy.

Leave a thought.

